COVID-19 Update

The Hatchery is now open to our volunteers on Sunday, Tuesday & Friday from 8am – 12 noon as work parties are required. We will limit the number of guests and a full COVID-19 plan is being updated. Please follow the guidelines that we all have to date, and please bring your own coffee.

Congratulations to this year's raffle winners

 Randy Leclerc – $500 cash

  Wayne Pennock – Fly Reel & book

Siobhan Coulter – Bamfield Fishing Trip

Craig Wickham – Silver Pendant

Steve Wood – Zipline Grouse Mountain for 2

Thank you for everyone that took part in this years raffle, we appreciate all your support

Our History

Founded in 1989 by Dave Evans, an avid outdoorsman, "Fish for your Future", as the Nicomekl Enhancement Society (NES) was originally called, worked hard with the help of the community and released 125,000 salmon that first year. Following a name change and incorporation under the BC Society Act the Nicomekl Enhancement Society was born in 1991.

After a few location changes, the NES settled on its current location with the help of Bruce Coulter who deeded us the land in 1994. Through much hard work, as well as much help from our friends, we continue to restore the Nicomekl River. There is still much to be done, and you can be a part.

What We Do

The NES strives to not only raise and release salmon, but to also improve their habitat, and to increase public awareness as well as involvement. As such we have a variety of ways to get involved.
Broodstock Capture
Juvenile Salmon Rearing & Release
Habitat Restoration
Public Events & Shows
Construction & Design
Government Committees & Hearings
Tours & Information Sessions
salmon released
Tours & Info Sessions Given
Years Strong

Our Latest Work At The Hatchery

Here are some photos of us replacing the 18”culvert which had collapsed with a 36” one donated by Langley Concrete and excavator work donated by Bill Clemas at Michael Brooks to create a new spawning area for returning Chum salmon, gravel & rock donated by Fraser Pacific & Mainland Gravel. To see more of our work check out our What We Do page.

Thank You

We'd like to recognize and thank the following companies and individuals who have donated their time, equipment, material, and financial aid to the hatchery.
Mainland Sand and Gravel
Langley Concrete
Clemas Contracting
Fraser Pacific Enterprises
Sumas Transport Inc
Rotary Club of Langley
B&B Contracting
Neale Driver
DC Welding & Fabrication Ltd.
Armstrong Environmental Services (AES) Inc.

Our Directors

Nigel Easton


    Murray Ross

    Vice President

      R.G John Hewitt


        Don Evers


          Mike Andrews


            Chris Bromley


              Bert Williams


                Bob Gray


                  Steven Lougheed


                    Nina Shah


                      Stephen Wood